Download PDF

About

Forum Conversations is our new webinar series spotlighting users whose projects exhibit best practice, involve an innovative application of the software, and deliver inspiring content.
In the sessions, we sit down with project managers and key staff to discuss all aspects of their Forum projects, such as:
  • The collections themselves
  • Project design & configuration
  • The story of how projects got started
  • Lessons learned
  • Impact of making the content available
  • Advice for others undertaking similar projects
  • Plans for the future
Our hope is that spotlighting users and their projects will spark conversations and inspire new projects! The webinars will be live sessions with an open Q&A portion at the end, so bring your questions! Recordings will be available after the sessions when possible.

Sessions


Conversation with Amy McKenna, Visual Resources Curator in the Williams College Art Department View the recording!

In this session, Amy discusses her experience managing coursework in Forum (you’ll love the Art History 101 Selfie Gallery project!), using image groups to incorporate Forum-based content into teaching, partnering with faculty, and training students to build Omeka exhibits.

Browse Public Collections from Williams College:


Make it public–how a shared special collection can change history

Thursday, May 17th 1PM Eastern (12PM Central / 11AM Mountain / 10 AM Pacific) – Register for the session!

In 2016, Tuskegee University Archives made their collection of recordings from the Civil Rights era publicly available using JSTOR Forum, opening up the possibility of important new insights to historians worldwide. Many of the recordings, which were previously confined to the physical archive, are of speeches by Civil Rights leaders given directly to their constituents. Uninhibited by the conventions required by appearances in the ‘white’ media of the time, these speeches provide an unvarnished opportunity to learn more about how the movement functioned internally and at its grassroots. Join us for a conversation with the project’s lead, assistant professor and university archivist Dana Chandler. In addition to listening to excerpts from some of the speeches and learning about the stories behind them, we’ll be finding out about the ways in which JSTOR Forum was used to support the project and how making it public has influenced research.